

May 13, 2014

The Honorable Tom Wheeler, Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street SW Washington, D.C. 20554

Dear Chairman Wheeler:

We are writing to express our strong support for an open Internet. We are showrunners and creators of television and original Internet programs, and members of the Writers Guild of America, West.

The open Internet is the greatest technological catalyst to participatory democracy and free speech since the printing press. That's why totalitarian states around the world try to control it.

There are two basic directions that the Internet can go, and the choice is in the FCC's hands.

Currently, the open Internet works like the phone lines. Consumers can call whomever they want; nobody gets to limit who they can call. Likewise, consumers choose where they want to go on the Internet; no content can be given preferential treatment by their Internet provider.

If Net Neutrality is neutered, the Internet will become like cable television. A few corporate gatekeepers such as Comcast will be allowed to decide what content consumers can access and on what terms. The danger is that blocking, discrimination and paid prioritization could occur.

This puts decision making and power over the Internet in the hands of the few, especially those with money. The Internet is too vital to the free exchange of ideas to allow the few companies who control Internet technology to edit the ideas and content that flow through it.

Moreover, in this case what's bad for free speech and democracy is also bad economic policy. Economists across the political spectrum agree that when companies can construct barriers to entry, markets are not free and efficient. New competition is locked out, resulting in a form of monopoly that causes consumers to suffer from higher prices- like their cable bills- and fewer choices.

That is exactly what has occurred in our traditional film and television business. After decades of consolidation and mergers, seven corporations control 95% of television production and viewing.

But right now the Internet is opening up the media business to new competition. There are new buyers for what we as writers create. But if this new competition is unfairly pushed aside because the FCC adopts weak rules, *rather than allowing consumers to decide what they prefer*, neither innovation nor the best interests of society will be served.

An open Internet is essential for free speech and participatory democracy. An open Internet has also been a tremendous engine for the generation of new jobs and businesses, an engine that properly rewards creators who have something compelling to say.

The Commission has the authority to keep the Internet free and open. We urge you to take the steps necessary to ensure the free flow of ideas and content across the web, without the threat of blocking or discrimination.

Sincerely,

Steve Callaghan Courtney Kemp Agboh Charles H. Eglee Mara Akil Bill Callahan Lee Eisenberg Chris Alberghini Clifton Campbell John Eisendrath Adam Armus Dave Caplan Diane English Dave Erickson Jeffrey Astrof Glenn Gordon Caron Neal Baer Bridget Carpenter Stephen Falk Hunt Baldwin Patti Carr Kevin Falls Carol Barbee Jeremy Carver Mark Fergus Dave Finkel Mike Barker Daniel Cerone Ilene Chaiken Mickey Fisher Jay Beattie Adam Chase John D. Beck **Emily Fox** Jeffrey Bell Mike Chessler Dana Fox Roberto Benabib Victor Fresco Cynthia Cidre Dan Berendsen David X. Cohen Bryan Fuller **Amy Berg** Carter Covington Sera Gamble Jim Bernstein Elizabeth Craft Alexander Gansa Alexandra Cunningham Jennifer Bicks Greg Garcia Kevin Biegel Carlton Cuse Leila Gerstein Ken Biller Ed Decter Mike Gibbons Steve Blackman Steven DeKnight Vince Gilligan Scott Gimple April Blair Bill D'Elia Sivert Glarum Raphael Bob-Waksberg Robert Doherty Rob Bragin Garrett Donovan Neil Goldman Christopher Brancato Chris Downey Sara Goodman David A. Goodman **Bradley Bredeweg** Tim Doyle Shane Brennan James Duff **Howard Gordon** Scott Buck Jay Duplass Al Gough Jack Burditt Pamela Eells Peter Gould

Daniel Knauf Lara Olsen David S. Goyer Susannah Grant Peter Paige Jay Kogen Rob Greenberg Aaron Korsh Lennon Parham Lyn Greene Eric Kripke James Parriott Jonas Pate **David Greenwalt** Liz Kruger Jonathan Groff Jim Patterson Sam Laybourne Marc Guggenheim Joni Lefkowitz Robert Peacock Jennifer Levin Aaron Guzikowski Tony Phelan **Aaron Harberts** Richard Levine Judd Pillot Chris Harris Steven Levitan Jeff Pinkner Ron Hart Paul Lieberstein Greg Plageman DeAnn Heline Eric Lodal Cameron Porsandeh

Felicia D. Henderson Chuck Lorre Bill Prady

Tom Hertz Rob Lotterstein Dawn Prestwich Steven Maeda Al Higgins Matt Pyken David Manson Daniel Pyne Jody Hill Tod Himmel Jim Margolis Luvh Rakhe Andrew Reich David Hoge Michael Mariano Andrew W. Marlowe David Holden Ethan Reiff Glen Mazzara Lukas Reiter Soo Hugh Blake McCormick **Shonda Rhimes** Armando Iannucci Lauren Iungerich David McFadzean Jason Richman Sean Jablonski Brian McGreevy Scott Rosenbaum Michael Jamin Matthew McGuinness Melissa Rosenberg

Al Jean Jamie McLaughlin Mike Royce Joanna Johnson Jeff Melvoin Kirk Rudell Jennifer Johnson Carol Mendelsohn Shawn Ryan Dee Johnson Erica Messer Ajay Sahgal Jeff Judah Rina Mimoun Nick Santora Ronald D. Moore Scott Satin Tom Kapinos Karl Schaefer Michael B. Kaplan Chris Mundy

Jason Katims Christopher Murphey Patrick Schumacker Mitchel Katlin Kevin Murphy Andy Schwartz Mike Kellev Margaret Nagle Mike Scully Neal Kendall DJ Nash Heath Seifert Jack Kenny Jan Nash Michael Seitzman Stephen Nathan Naren Shankar Chris Keyser Nahnatchka Khan Peter Nowalk Craig Shapiro Callie Khouri Rockne S. O'Bannon Dan Signer Peter Ocko Kyle Killen Josh Silverstein Marlene King Peter O'Fallon Craig Silverstein

Todd Slavkin
Patrick Sean Smith
Jill Soloway
Holly Sorensen
Tom Spezialy

Kathryn J. Steinberg
Dan Sterling
Bernie Su
Veena Sud
Craig Sweeny
Darren Swimmer
Tom Szentgyorgyi

Janet Tamaro

Matt Tarses Christian Taylor Betsy Thomas Rob Thomas Hans Tobeason Donald Todd

Donald Todd Cyrus Voris Greg Walker Matthew Weiner Lizzy Weiss Matt Weitzman John Wells Mark Wilding Vaun Wilmott Hilary Winston John Wirth

John Wirth
Nicholas Wootton
Craig Wright
Rob Wright
Nicole Yorkin
Graham Yost
David Zabel
Aaron Zelman
Ed Zuckerman
David Zuckerman